## Federal Interagency Workgroup on Improving Diagnostic Safety and Quality in Healthcare

\*List current as of December 2, 2024

Name	Agency/Department	Title
Craig A. Umscheid, M.D., M.S.	AHRQ	Director, Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety
Erin Grace, M.H.A.	AHRQ	Deputy Director, Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety
Margie Shofer, B.S.N., M.B.A.	AHRQ	Director, Division of General Patient Safety, Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety
Chris Dymek, Ed.D.	AHRQ	Director, Division of Digital Healthcare Research
Monika Haugstetter, M.H.A., M.S.N., RN	AHRQ	Health Scientist Administrator, Division of General Patient Safety, Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety
Hamid Jalal, M.D., M.H.S.A.	AHRQ	Medical Officer, Division of Patient Safety Organizations, Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety
Karen Cosby, M.D.	AHRQ	Medical Officer, Division of General Patient Safety, Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety
David Hunt, M.D., FACS	ASTP	Medical Director, Patient Safety
Louis Magyar, D.N.P., FNP-C	ASTP	Fellow, U.S. Army War College
Meron Seyoum-Seifu	ASTP	Public Health Analyst
Víctor R. De Jesús, Ph.D.	CDC	Acting Director, Division of Laboratory Systems, Office of Laboratory Systems and Response
Ira Lubin, Ph.D.	CDC	Lead, Diagnostic Excellence Initiative, Division of Laboratory Systems, Office of Laboratory Systems and Response
Cliff McDonald, M.D.	CDC	Associate Director for Science, Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion, National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Disease
Jennifer Farrar, M.P.H.	CDC	Director, Antimicrobial Resistance and Patient Safety Portal, Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion
Preeta Kutty, M.D.	CDC	Deputy Associate Direct for Science, Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion, National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Disease
Ron Kline, M.D.	CMS	Chief Medical Officer, Center for Clinical Standards and Quality
Indira Jevaji, M.D., M.S.L.	CMS	Senior Medical Advisor, Medical Officer, Consultant for Claims Review
Brian D. Anderson, B.S.N., M.B.A., NE-BC, CPPS	DoD	Management and Program Analyst, Patient Safety Program, Clinical Quality Management, Clinical Support Division, Medical Affairs
Miranda Hancock, M.P.H., CAsP	DoD	Deputy Chief, Field Operations; Patient Safety, Clinical Support Division; Medical Affairs, Defense Health Agency
Johnathan M. Compton, M.D., M.A., CPE	DoD	Lead, HEART and Field Operations; Patient Safety/Clinical Quality Management; Clinical Support Division/Medical Affairs
Brittany Wright Schuck, Ph.D.	FDA	Senior Policy Advisor, Office of the Center Director, Center for Devices and Radiological Health

Name	Agency/Department	Title
Natasha Thorne, Ph.D.	FDA	Acting Associate Director, OHT7, Office of In Vitro
		Diagnostics, Center for Devices and Radiological Health
Toby Lowe	FDA	Associate Director, Office of In Vitro Diagnostics and
		Radiological Health
Ahmed Calvo, M.D., M.P.H.	HRSA	Senior Medical Officer
Michael Lee, Pharm.D., BCPS	IHS	Acting Director, Office of Quality, Division of Quality
CAPT, USPHS		Assurance and Patient Safety
		Adverse Events Coordinator and I-STAR Administrator
		Office of Quality, Division of Patient Safety and Clinical
		Risk Management
Philippe Champagne, M.D., M.P.H.	IHS	Physician Senior Advisor, Office of Quality
Lisa Majewski, Ph.D., RN,	IHS	Director, Office of Quality
M.S.N.		
Qi Duan, Ph.D.	NIH	Program Director, Division of Health Informatics
		Technologies, Biomedical Informatics, National
		Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering
Paul Fontelo, M.D., M.P.H.	NIH	Staff Scientist, Applied Clinical Informatics Branch, National Library of Medicine
Michael Kurilla, M.D., Ph.D.	NIH	Director, Division of Clinical Innovation, National
		Center for Advancing Translational Sciences
David Lang, M.D., M.P.H.	NIH	Chief, Office of Patient Safety and Clinical Quality, NIH
		Clinical Center
Gurvaneet Randhawa, M.D.,	NIH	Medical Officer, Health Systems and Interventions
M.P.H.		Research Branch, National Cancer Institute
Leith States, M.D., M.P.H.	OASH	Acting Chief Medical Officer
Nima Sheth, M.D., M.P.H.	SAMHSA	Senior Medical Advisor
Hardeep Singh, M.D., M.P.H.	VA	Co-Chief, Health Policy, Quality, and Informatics
		Program, Center for Innovations in Quality,
		Effectiveness, and Safety, Michael E. DeBakey VA
		Medical Center and Baylor College of Medicine
Reena Duseja, M.D., M.S.	VA	Senior Advisor, Office of Associate Deputy
		Undersecretary for Health Quality and Patient Safety

**Key:** AHRQ = Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, ASTP=Assistant Secretary for Technology Policy, CDC = Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, CMS = Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, DoD = Department of Defense, FDA = Food and Drug Administration, HRSA = Health Resources and Services Administration, IHS = Indian Health Service, NIH = National Institutes of Health, OASH = Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, SAMHSA = Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, USPHS = U.S. Public Health Service, VA = Department of Veterans Affairs.